“Too Much? Too Little!” they say.

by chelseajin

Today, after reviewing a medical insurance bill for my brother, my mother decided for me that I would not be doing primary care.

Because in her opinion, there was hardly any compensation for our Family Doc and she didn’t want me to have to suffer going through a large volume of patients in order to keep up with the rising cost of living. She saw our doctor received $17 for a visit of any length of time per person, while a “surgery” gave him about $90.

She and my father then had a lengthy fantastical talk about how she could take a medical billing class so that she could help out and bill like crazy for my hypothetical private practice in the future.

I’m not sure how I feel about this. $17 a head is not that much, because it could be a long visit and knowing me, I wouldn’t just turn someone in and out in ten minutes. (Then again, there are people who support families on less than 17/hour). I guess in terms of surgeons being paid a lot more for a very minor surgery is unfair. But I’m not looking to make $300,000 a year (or should I be? Wanting to get 2 kids through college and whatever graduate school they desire + retirement funds).

So there’s this very weird juxtaposition of the patient wanting less expensive medical services, while the doctor and her family in this case, want to do everything to maximize profits because we feel shortchanged.

The more I think about it, the more I think the whole system is flawed. It doesn’t look like you can just patch it to fully address what everyone is complaining about.

