Serious Business

by chelseajin

As promised, Dr. Hadley brought me to a meeting with a few residents who were creating a proposal to start a Coumadin clinic with Mobile Health.

Coumadin aka Warfarin is a blood thinner. Used in cases of certain arrythmias liek atrial fibrillation, and people at risk for altered blood dynamics causing often fatal conditions like deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism. In short, it prevents blood clots. The major drawback is that it has to be closely monitored, people have to come in every couple weeks to make sure they’re getting a good dosage.

Let me just say that watching residents is like a breath of fresh air. There’s no sense of stress about them, they laugh a lot and seem to have fun. Medical students on the other hand are really uptight, competitive, and sometimes just evil. I’m blaming the Match for this discrepancy. Once people are set, I guess they’re just happy.

Things learned: Print out meeting outlines for everyone + 1 extra. Also, freely delegate tasks.

It seems like a really ambition project. About $10,000 to get all the equipment needed to check people’s INR and support a population with little to no insurance. I’m not sure how it will play out because so far, I don’ think I’ve seen anyone on coumadin come to the clinic, but there’s always a need, it’s just not always obvious.

I do love how I know what the IRB is and the basic guidelines for human research. It made me competent in that meeting. Thank you Downstate, for making me take that ridiculous online course on it.

